Australian Government

Nuclear-based science benefiting all Australians

Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation

NEWS RELEASE

Tuesday 15 December, 2015

ANSTO CELEBRATES STUDENT-SCIENCE SUCCESSES! 230 MEDALS FOR 115 PRIMARY AND SECONDARY SCHOOLS

Throughout December, the home of applied science in Sydney is helping school Principals reward their students for efforts in subjects that will shape the future for Australia.

The Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation (ANSTO) Science Medals are given out to celebrate and encourage success in science, technology, engineering and mathematics subjects (STEM).

Some 230 medals will be awarded to 115 primary and secondary schools across Sydney and New South Wales [see full list attached].

ANSTO scientists and staff personally present medals to students, to reward their enthusiasm for, and excellence in, STEM at the end-of-year school awards ceremony.

"The ANSTO medals are all about getting young people excited about science, technology, engineering and mathematics," said Rod Dowler from the ANSTO Discovery Centre.

"They are given to students with an aim to get them to really think about the applications and outcomes of science, challenging them to look more broadly at where STEM could take them.

"At ANSTO we operate some of the world's best instruments for science, including Australia's only nuclear research reactor, OPAL.

"Here, hundreds of Australian and international researchers work on the big issues: improving human health, understanding the environment and looking for new discoveries to support Australian industry.

"We know that science these days has no limit – and the ANSTO Science Medal program aims to extend students' thinking about what a career in science could actually mean to them.

"We want to reach out to young, curious kids and spark their interest, helping them realise the possibility of their future in STEM," said Mr Dowler.

ANSTO encourages people of all ages to get involved in science, and welcomes more than 15,000 visitors each year to the main campus at Lucas Heights, to see science in action.

The popular school holiday science programs are also a good way to keep kids active and learning something new over the holiday periods. For information on ANSTO, go to <u>www.ansto.gov.au</u>

Media contact: Phil McCall 0438 619 987

A full list of schools receiving medals in 2015 is attached / overleaf

The following schools will receive ANSTO Science Medals in 2015:

- Alfords Point Public School
- Aquinas Catholic College Menai
- Austinmer Public School
- Balarang Public School
- Bangor Public School
- Blacktown Girls High School
- Bonnet Bay Public School
- Broughton Anglican College
- Bulli High School
- Camden High School
- Canley Vale Public School
- Caringbah High School
- Cedars Christian College
- Christadelphian Heritage
 College Sydney
- Como Public School
- Corrimal East Public School
- Corrimal High School
- Cronulla High School
- Cronulla South Public School
- Dapto High School
- Dapto Public School
- De La Salle Catholic College Caringbah
- Doonside Technology High School
- Edmund Rice College
- Endeavour Sports High School
- Engadine High School
- Engadine Public School
- Engadine West Public School
- Figtree Heights Public School
- Georges River Campus Hurstville
- Georges River Campus Peakhurst
- Georges River Campus Penshurst
- Georges River College Oatley
- Girraween High School
- Gold Creek Senior School
- Greenacre Baptist Christian
 Community School
- Gymea Bay Public School
- Gymea North Public School
- Gymea Technology High School
- Heathcote East Public School
- Heathcote High School

- Heathcote Public School
- Helensburgh Public School
- Homebush Boys High School
- Hurstville Public School
- Illawong Public School
- Inaburra School
- Inaburra School
- Jannali High School
- Jannali Public School
- Kanahooka High School
- Keiraville Public School
- Kemblawarra Public School
- Kiama High School
- Kiama Public School
- Kingsgrove North High School
- Kingswood High School
- Kirrawee High School
- Lake Illawarra High School
- Lake Illawarra South Public
 School
- Lilli Pilli Public School
- Lindsay Park Public School
- Marton Public School
- Menai High School
- Menai Public School
- Milperra Public School
- Miranda North Public School
- Miranda Public School
- Mount Annan High School
- Mount Kembla Public School
- Mount St Thomas Public School
- Mount Terry Primary School
- Mt Ousley Public School
- Orange High School
- Our Lady of Mercy Catholic College, Burraneer
- Oyster Bay Public School
- Peakhurst South Public School
- Peakhurst West Public School
- Penshurst West Public School
- Port Hacking High School
- Primbee Public School
- Scarborough Public School
- St George Girls High School
- St John Bosco College
- St Josephs Catholic High School
- St Mary Star of the Sea College
- St Mary's Senior High School

- St Patrick's College Sutherland
- Stanwell Park Public School
- Sutherland North Public School
- Sutherland Public School
- Sylvania Heights Public School
- Taren Point Public School
- Towradgi Public School
- Tullimbar Public School
- Warrawong High School
- Waterfall Public School
- Wollongong High School of Performing Arts
- Wollongong Public School

Woolooware High School

Woronora River Public School

Woonona Public School